

MINUTES

UNSCHEDULED MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD AT BRIEFING ROOM 44 STATION STREET COBRAM VIC 3644, TUESDAY 30 APRIL 2024

The meeting commenced at 4:00pm.

PRESENT Chair Administrator John Tanner AM

Administrator Suzanna Sheed AM Administrator Graeme Emonson PSM

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr Matthew Morgan - Chief Executive Officer

Mr Scott Williams - Director Community

Ms Amanda Chadwick – Executive Manager Governance Ms Nancy Mustica - Acting Manager Governance and

Performance

RECORDING

Consistent with section 13.3 of our Governance Rules, Council officers have been authorised to record the public session of this meeting using an audio recording device.

LIVE STREAMING

Council meetings will now be lived streamed to allow those interested in viewing proceedings greater access to Council decisions and debate, without attending the meeting in person.

1. WELCOME CALLING TO ORDER - CEO

2. PRAYER

Almighty God we humbly ask you to guide our deliberations for the welfare and benefit of the Moira Shire and its people whom we serve.

Amen

3. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS

We, the Moira Shire Council, would like to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land upon which we meet and pay our respects to their Elders both past and present.

4. APOLOGIES / LEAVE OF ABSENCE

5. DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST Nil

6. OFFICER REPORTS FOR DETERMINATION

Moira Shire Council Page 1 of 3

FILE NO:

1. A WELCOMING AND INCLUSIVE PLACE

ITEM NO: 6.1
(TEAM LEADER BUSINESS SUPPORT,
COMMUNITY SERVICE DELIVERY,
NATALIE MCDONALD)
(DIRECTOR COMMUNITY SCOTT
WILLIAMS)

YARRAWONGA TOWN HALL FUTURE USE ADVISORY GROUP - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

Executive Summary

The Yarrawonga Town Hall Future Use Advisory Group (Advisory Group) will give representative advice to Council about future uses and users of the Yarrawonga Town Hall. This advice will include informing the scope and deliverables of Yarrawonga Library, Events and Performance Precinct Stage 2 works that will be needed to support future Town Hall uses.

On Thursday 28 March 2024, Council opened the Expression of Interest process via an online survey for the Advisory Group, and it closed on Wednesday 24 April at 4pm. 21 applications were received, of which one was incomplete.

The Assessment Panel, made up of Council's Chief Executive Officer, Director Community, and an Independent Consultant from Kismet Forward, have assessed the applications and have prepared a recommendation for Council's consideration.

Following Council's decision, applicants will be notified on the outcome of their application and a meeting will be convened to onboard the members, ratify the Terms of Reference (attached) and confirm the roadmap of the group.

MOTION

ADMINISTRATORS GRAEME EMONSON / SUZANNA SHEED

1. That Council, in accordance with the Terms of Reference for the Yarrawonga Town Hall Future Use Advisory Group, appoint the following individuals to the group in their respective areas:

Two interested community members who are residents of the Yarrawonga / Mulwala district:

- Bruce Pigdon
- James Rouel

Eight representatives of groups or organisations that have previously utilised space in the Town Hall or the former Community Hall:

- Nerida Mitchell Across the Arts Yarrawonga Mulwala
- Damien Keel Yarrawonga College P-12
- Carol Henderson Yarrawonga Anglican Parish
- Andrew Brown "Festival of 1000 Voices" Choir Festival
- Jan Parker Yarrawonga Family History Group

Moira Shire Council Page 2 of 3

FILE NO:

1. A WELCOMING AND INCLUSIVE PLACE

ITEM NO: 6.1 (TEAM LEADER BUSINESS SUPPORT, COMMUNITY SERVICE DELIVERY, NATALIE MCDONALD) (DIRECTOR COMMUNITY SCOTT WILLIAMS)

YARRAWONGA TOWN HALL FUTURE USE ADVISORY GROUP - APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS

- Ian Reid Allegro Theatre Company
- Geoff Campbell Yarrawonga Community Action Group
- Alan Williams Yarrawonga Senior Citizens

Two representatives of community groups or organisations that have not previously used either Hall but could do so in the future:

- Cyndi Gleeson Yarrawonga Mulwala Historical Society
- Nikki Ralston Regional Arts Victoria

One representative of the Moira Shire All Abilities Advisory Committee:

• Julie-Anne Clarke - Moira Shire Council All Abilities Advisory Committee

One representative of the Goulburn Valley Libraries:

- Felicity Macchion Goulburn Valley Libraries
- 2. That Council confirm each of the appointments made will be for a period of 12 months commencing from 1 May 2024.
- 3. That Council ask the Principal of the Yarrawonga P-12 and Sacred Heart College to nominate one student representative each to sit on the Advisory Group with permission from the student's parent (if under 18) and delegate the appointment of the student representatives to the Yarrawonga Town Hall Future Use Advisory Group to the CEO, noting that should no students be nominated, the absence of students does not invalidate the Terms of Reference of the Advisory Group.

CARRIED

7. MEETING CLOSE: 4.11pm

Moira Shire Council Page 3 of 3